# Managing Unwanted Patients and Staff Users Views: 555
1 System AdminPosted: 11/07/2018 10:31 AM

There are two ways to manage unwanted patients and staff users in the system:

1. For unwanted patients, you can change their status to "Suspended" and keep them in Contacts > Patients > All Patients > Demographics grid display. For unwanted staff users, you can change their status to "Suspended" and keep them in Operations > Access > User Accounts grid display.

or

2. Delete them and remove them from the respective grid displays. However, the patient demographics and staff user account data is still kept in the system database (starting with Version 2.8). This feature is designed to maintain existing records properly.

For either option, the unwanted patients and staff users lose their access to the system and patient portal. They can no longer be used in scheduling, messaging, etc.